This Demo Tastes Funny

Over the past couple years, I’ve noticed that fewer and fewer workshops/demos pique my interest.  I still go to plenty of them, but I go mainly for the social aspect.

One reason is that oftentimes the presenters pad the demos.  If they have half an hours’ worth of material, they sometimes try to fill a 45-60-minute time slot.  This leads to lots of fluff and bland material.  I realize that my standards are probably rising over time, but sometimes it just doesn’t feel like the presenters are trying.

Also, when I’m curious about something, I research it.  I read.  I talk to people who do it.  I try it out.  I don’t sit around for years and wait, hoping that eventually someone will do a workshop on it.  I seek out those who have knowledge and I squeeze it out of their heads.  It makes no sense to me to wait around.  Gather information, then try it.  If it really doesn’t work for you, don’t do it anymore.  If you get something out of it, add it to your regular repertoire.  When there’s something potentially hot or fun in store, why wait?  Set it up and do it.  You’re only depriving yourself of pleasure by waiting.

As a side note, lots of presenters seem to be continually trying to top each other.  They want to get edgier, more extreme.  Things that were taboo a few years back are now common and even trendy.  Piss play, cutting, breath play, and needles all come to mind.  If you spoke of any of these five years ago (at least in the local community) most people would react with distaste at best.  A few would secretly admit in private that they were into or curious about them.  It makes me wonder what kinds of topics the demos will be covering in another 5-10 years.

2 Responses to “This Demo Tastes Funny”

  1. Quietlisten Says:

    I just attended Frolicon this weekend and was amazed at the range of presentations. Some had five minutes of material that they stretched with personal anecdotes to the point of utter boredom (mine, not theirs). Another gathered everyone into a circle and turned the discussion into a highly interactive workshop based on a couple of pages of condensed notes (excellent take-aways); that could have easily gone on another hour or more… and she was teaching three classes! I felt like I was back in college; pick classes based on the “Instructor” column in the catalog, not the “Topic” column.

    I also agree on presenters trying to out-do each other. I went to one demo on flesh hooking. The demos weren’t straight out of A Man Called Horse, but they were heading straight towards that end of the scale.

  2. overwrought Says:

    I really haven’t been in the scene at all lately, but I remember going to demos on cutting and needles at least five years ago. Maybe part of it is where you are.


Leave a reply... or squirrels will eat your face.

