Ball-Kicking and Neurons Make Strange Bedfellows

It’s been scientifically confirmed: My brain is strange.

Last night we went to a party at a friend’s house.  There was someone there who is relatively new to the community.  He’s a neuroscientist, and he had a machine there.  It was some form of EEG, though I don’t think it’s the standard EEG used in hospitals.  He’s involved in research, and this seemed like a more elaborate one that would be used more for that application.

Throughout the night, he put a sort of helmet with electrodes on bottoms’ heads and measured their responses while they were playing, either with him or with someone else.  It was fascinating to watch.  At one point, a friend of mine mentioned being curious how my neural functions would look while getting kicked in the balls.  So of course, I ended up trying that.  For science!

A friend who I’d only played with once before (in our anniversary scene a few weeks ago) topped me in this scene.  We started off with some ball-kicking, then moved on to impact, biting, scratching, etc.  The neuroscientist quietly gave commentary to the people watching while it was happening as he’d been doing for every scene that night.  According to him, my brain initially reacted to the ball-kicking with an “And we’re off!  Here we go!” type of reaction, followed soon after by a sense of familiarity and having done that before.  He was shocked by the lack of fear response he saw on the computer and mentioned that any man he knows would be trembling at the thought of being kicked in the balls even once.  He also reaffirmed what I knew about needing to take 10-15 seconds after a hard hit to recover, and also that I feel sort of an adrenaline rush during some forms of play rather than arousal.  After a few minutes of her kicking me in the balls, he again became surprised by what he saw:  He said that my brain entered a state that he’d only rarely seen before in people who were extremely adept at meditation.

T said on the way home that this is further proof that I’ve earned the title “hardcore legend”- I meditate by being kicked in the balls.

2 Responses to “Ball-Kicking and Neurons Make Strange Bedfellows”

  1. Ferns Says:

    Ooh… interesting. I am curious whether that meditative state was reached by others during their play. I’m really wondering if it’s a kind of sub-space that can be measured and recorded by brain activity… fascinating…

    Ferns

  2. pureliquidkink Says:

    Ferns- I was the only one that night who experienced that meditative state. He’d never seen that before with anyone other than during actual meditation. He did register subspace in some people, which showed up differently. I don’t remember the exact way he explained it, but he was measuring all sorts of different parameters. I did get a bit of subspace going on later in the scene though, and I usually don’t go real deep with that anyway.


Leave a reply... or squirrels will eat your face.

